13th Wartburg Symposium

on Flavor Chemistry & Biology

Scientific Program

The meeting is designated to provide an integrative approach for modern research in the field. The program will contain about ten plenary lectures, 22 short talks, 12 flash poster presentations, and about 60 posters.

The presentation of the posters will be organized in two guided poster sessions and the best poster will be awarded. Because the space for participants is limited to about 150 persons, the organizers will send invitations to attend the symposium primarily based on the submission of an acceptable abstract.

However, there is also space for people who only want to attend. The following are the main subject areas for which papers will be invited:

  • Functional flavor genomics & biotechnology
  • Flavor generation & precursors
  • Next-generation technologies in molecule discovery and analytics
  • Chemosensory perception and signal processing
  • Food-born bioactives and chemoreceptor-mediated health prevention
  • Flavor systems: molecular decoding, interactions and perception

Keynote Speakers Introducing Symposium Topics

  • Markus Arnoldini (Mucosal Immunology, ETH Zürich, Zürich, Switzerland)
  • Jörg Bohlmann (Michael Smith Laboratories, The University of British Columbia, Vancouver, Canada)
  • Robin Dando (Food Science, Taste Physiology, Cornell University, Ithaca New York, USA)
  • Ulrich Fischer (Institute for Viticulture and Oenology, DLR Rheinlandpfalz, Neustadt/Wstr., Germany)
  • Hiroaki Matsunami (Molecular Genetics and Microbiology, Neurobiology, Cell Biology, Duke University School of Medicine, Durham North Carolina, USA)
  • Masha Niv (Biochemistry, Food Science and Nutrition, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Rehovot, Israel)
  • Ron Heeren (Imaging Mass Spectrometry, Maastricht University, Maastricht, The Netherlands)


Prof. Dr. T. Hofmann
Prof. Dr. H. Zorn
Prof. Dr. C. Dawid
Prof. Dr. V. Somoza

Important dates

October 03 - 06, 2023

Payment of symposium fee:
May 31, 2023


13th Wartburg Flavor Symposium
Prof. Dr. Corinna Dawid
Tel: +49 (0) 8161 71 - 2902
Fax: +49 (0) 8161 71 - 2949
Email: contact(at)wartburg-symposium.de

Ivonne Hofmann-Sellier
Tel: +49 (0) 171 14 68 975
Email: contact(at)wartburg-symposium.de 

post address:
Kirchstraße 2
83229 Aschau i. Chiemgau / Sachrang

Industrial Gold Sponsors

Industrial Silver Sponsors

Industrial Bronze Sponsors